first time security , intro

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
67stang 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Posted: April 09, 2009 at 4:18 PM / IP Logged  
Hello,
Let me first introduce my car. Its a 67 Mustang coupe that has under gone a complete 100% tear down and rotisserie restoration. The shell is currently at the paint shop where they are doing the final sanding for me and paint. It is being transformed into a 68 Shelby coupe and just some of the additional modifications can be seen in my sig below. A year of my time and about 3 times my original budget into it!
Now unfortunately it'll not have its own garage until next year and with it being used as a daily driver I absolutely need to invest in a good security system for it. I know that if a professional wants the car it'll very likely be gone regardless of alarms and all the security in the world. However I'd like to think I can make their job a bit more difficult.
To start with ALL the original wiring was removed and I'm installing a new custom setup from Ron Francis Wiring. The fuse panel, battery and solenoid are being moved to the trunk (in an enclosed aluminum lock box) along with a remote powered disconnect with a trickle power for stereo memory and alarm. All wiring is being run through sealed loom and has a new layout which differs from the original.
I have also modified a small hidden 0 Lux camera into the car with motion activation. This is positioned so that whenever someone is in the front seat their picture is taken. The camera is setup and wired into a wireless system that connects to our home and work wireless. Any photos it takes get sent to my mail account as well as to my cell phone.
Once the car is completed it'll have the advanced recovery Lo-Jack system installed. This is simply a no brainer in my opinion.