icon

Adding a Second Battery

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
katman 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Posted: December 17, 2009 at 4:45 AM / IP Logged  

I thought the B+ had to supply the dual battery charging system in a seperate path? This seems to me to have it available to either battery that would need charged.  I'm not an engineer so I'm seeking info here.

With my aux. lighting and sound system load I don't think there is a problem with keeping the batteries charged.  The output is much higher than most scooter and motorcycle designs.  I would like to have higher output but haven't found a way to improve the OEM one.  It's inside the case so fitting a higher output startor would be a problem especially if trying to do it on the cheap!

The 400 watt alternator puts out 15.2 volts which by the time it gets to batteries is right voltage for the AGM batteries.  The OEM battery is an AGM type to. 

Still any comments are helpful.  Thanks for putting time in on my questions.

"All paid jobs absorb and degrade the mind."
Aristotle
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: December 17, 2009 at 6:06 AM / IP Logged  
Maybe my diagram below from my aforementioned trailor alarm wiring link explains all that is required.
Although shown as charge-light controlled Aux Relay, merely use whatever voltage sensing system output in place of the "Charge Lamp terminal".
As to getting higher alternator output, you probably won't if it's a permanent magnet type (assuming the stator is good). The max power is limited by magnet strength and RPM.
But you can vary the stator's turns ratio and gauge for "optimum" output (at a certain RPM).