icon

momentary pb to constant on

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
sredmyer 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: February 24, 2011 at 9:41 PM / IP Logged  

Ok, I am a newbie here and know just enough about electronics and the like to be dangerous so please be easy on me.

Here is my situation; I have a 2008 F350 Super Duty with the factory backup camera.  I also added a front camera to aid in nose in parking.  I currently am able to display either camera on the factory OEM in dash navigation screen.  To choose which is being shown I use this device http://www.qualitymobilevideo.com/LCDQUAD4SW.aspx which is a 4 channel video switcher.  The device has a trigger wire for each video input which when pulled to +12 VDC will cause the device to switch the video output to the associated camera input.  Currently I control the trigger leads for this device with the factory Aux switches ("Upfitter" switches). 

What I would like to do is repurpose an existing steering wheel control button to provide the trigger.  I have already modified the steering wheel buttons and clockspring such that an existing rocker button will switch a common between either of two contacts depending on which way the button is pressed.  Problem with this is that it only provides a momentary contact while the video switching device requires a constant 12 volts on the trigger lead to cause the camera to be displayed.  So what I need to do is to find a circuit to convert this momentary push button into a toggle button.  I found this diagram on the relay page which shows using 4 relays to perfom the toggle from momentary. 

https://www.the12volt.com/relays/relaydiagram23.html

However as I mentioned I am not very knowledgable about electronics and simply can not follow this diagram to understand how it works...it also seems like it would be a bit noisy with all those relays.