ford 2008 f 350 avital 4103 , pkall

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tim051 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Posted: August 02, 2013 at 5:38 PM / IP Logged  

Hi Folks,

Newbie here with a 2008 Ford F-350.  The truck has auto locks, electric windows, etc, but was not ordered with a keyless entry system. 

I have just received an Avital 4103LXL and a PKALL data immobilizer override. I have also downloaded the applicable vehicle wire colors/locations for the truck and the installation manual for the 4103.

1.  Is the PKALL a standalone unit that interfaces only with the Ignition key wires? (it appears so, but wanted to make sure that it's not connected to the 4103).

2.  How do I remove the plastic under the steering wheel to gain access to the wiring harness?  (not wanting to break any plastic tabs making entry)!

I have a lot of years doing electronics (>40), and many 2-way radio installations, but this will be my first keyless entry.  (I know the basics, but not the tricks)!

It seems that the proper sequence to installation is to first compare the required signals of the 4103 with those in the Ford document, using the names and multimeter to confirm their function.

Next, I would connect those like named wires to the Ford's harness/kickplate/wherever.  I have noticed that some signals have a +, and some have a -.  Are these complements of each other? (one would go high, and one would go low for the same function)?

I'm going to start slow!!

Thanks,

Tim

Tim
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,781
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: August 02, 2013 at 7:49 PM / IP Logged