door locks, leaf actuator, relay?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
lmdavis 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: April 18, 2014 at 10:22 PM / IP Logged  
Hi all,
I'm new here I am a 12volt technician for a company and have a good background in audio in general. Anyways to my question, I was looked up different ways to wire switches into systems, I happened to stumble across a how to page. The page explained how to set up your door locks with something that you can wave a magnet over and bam your locks get a pulse and unlock. I believe it was called a leaf actuator and you wired it up to a relay. My understanding is that you wave the magnet over it it closes the connection sends the 12v's through it and triggers the relay to pop the locks. So the question is A) what is the device called and B) what is the proper wiring? Thanks to everyone who responds in advance!
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: April 19, 2014 at 6:25 AM / IP Logged  
A reed relay is the answer, never used them except with roller shutter doors on trucks.
Works as a microswitch and forget about using anything bar "normal" relays or micro relays for lock motor wiring.
Could you give us a link to this article?
lmdavis 
Member spacespace
Posted: April 19, 2014 at 7:43 AM / IP Logged  
http://www.reed-sensor.com/Applications/Automotive_applications.htm
I believe it was this one.
howie ll 
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: April 19, 2014 at 8:55 AM / IP Logged  
OK, they are used as sensors rather than in lock actuation.
Used as a latter day microswitch for positional sensing.
Similar application to a Hall effect switch.
Nothing to do with lock/unlock, more "lock/unlock detection" circuits to trigger dome lights, BCM wake-ups etc.
lmdavis 
Member spacespace
Posted: April 19, 2014 at 5:43 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks for your response!