adding interior led lighting

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
robexor 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: July 24, 2014 at 7:18 AM / IP Logged  
Hello All,
Just joined this forum as it seem to have a fountain on information.
I am from the UK.
I have a HONDA CRV 2002 MK2
I want to add interior LED lighting in the footwells of the car that come on when i am driving the car.
The best way i can easily see to achieve this is from my cigarette lighter as this only turns on when the Ignition key is on.
I have found LED strip lighting on ebay that is 12v
Here is the link for more information
Ebay
I currently have LED lights in my car that use a USB connector.
My cigarette lighter has a DUAL usb adapter so i can charge my phone and run these usb lights. Looks very messy.
Now i am an IT engineer and i believe that USB socket on a PC draws 5 volts, no more.
So would i be correct in saying that the USB led lights are only using v5 ?
I want to get rid of this as it looks messy, so if i purchase these led lights from ebay, am i correct in saying that i can connect the positive and negative of these LED stip lights to the positive and negative on the back of the cigarette lighter ?
or do this but with a Inline fuse aswell.
I might want to add a in series switch so i can turn them off whilst driving aswell.
Do you think there will be a limit on how much LED lights i can put on the cigarette ligter. Just in case i decide to add more LED lighting to the car at a later date, ie the rear foot wells. at the same time as the front footwells.
Please correct me in any way , i am quite good with a soldering iron, just not to ok with calculating what parts i need to achieve what i want.
Thanks in advance
Rob.
adding interior led lighting - Last Post -- posted image. adding interior led lighting - Last Post -- posted image.
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: July 24, 2014 at 8:34 AM / IP Logged  
Yes, the USB LEDs are only 5V.