icon

fan motor switch honda vt750

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
carloadfour 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: July 29, 2014 at 1:13 PM / IP Logged  
I'm consolidating my ignition switch and starter button into one unit (automotive type where you just crank the key).
On the old setup, the ignition switch has three wires. switching the key activates all three:
FAN - power to fan motor (has it's own fuse)
IG - accesories
BAT1 - battery (fused)
The new switch doesn't have a terminal for FAN..which gets power directly from battery. Could I just the tap the BAT1 line?? Would it overload something?
Do I need a relay, and how would I set that up?
I'm new at this. It's a honda shadow aero 2007 vt750. Any ideas?
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: August 02, 2014 at 9:23 PM / IP Logged  
You should be able to use a relay to supply fan power - ie, the switch supplies #86 (with #85 to GND) & #30 to +12V (via fuse); #86 to fan.
However find out what is controlling your fan.
It may be a relay from a thermister etc in which case may simply need to reconnect that relay's coil feed.
If it's a direct switching (high current) thermal switch, I'd suggest rewiring to have the thermal-switch switch the coil, but that's to take the strain off the thermal switch. (Like brake & reverse etc switches, they'll usually last longer switching a relay rather than 2 or more 21W etc bulbs direct. Only where contact whetting is required might high currents (maybe 0.5 - 1A) be required; but coil spikes usually suffice for that.)
carloadfour 
Member spacespace
Posted: August 07, 2014 at 10:56 AM / IP Logged  
Thanks for the reply.
This diagram is for the ACE. The fan motor circuit is the same.
As you can see, the only wire I need to mess with connects to the old ignition switch.
So I couldn't splice it to the battery or accesory wire?
(the other two wires coming from the ignition switch).
I guess I could do a relay.