need temperature based circuit

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
webpager 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: September 16, 2014 at 9:29 PM / IP Logged  
Hey folks,
I'm trying to create a very simple circuit (such as an OR circuit) to compare ambient air temp to air temp coming from an HVAC vent. If the temp from the vent is colder or same as ambient, the circuit stays open or sends a negative or whatever else. If the air from the vent is hotter than ambient temp, it closes the circuit or sends a positive, etc.
I had been thinking of just a thermostat, but that won't compare to ambient but to a temp setting. I have no experience with thermistors and am not sure if they would fit the application. From what I know of them, it would be similar to comparing to a set temp.
Any and all help appreciated. Like most of us, price and ease of building are concerns.
Thanks.
Webpager - Upfitter, computer guy, car guy. I can't tell the difference between Columbian or African coffee, but I knew at age 4 the difference between volts, watts and ohms.
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: September 16, 2014 at 10:38 PM / IP Logged  
Google temperature comparator circuits; images may yield the best results.
The simplest would use Comparators - eg, LM339 quad comparator, single supply.
webpager 
Member spacespace
Posted: September 16, 2014 at 11:36 PM / IP Logged  
Most of what I see is comparing to a set temperature.
Would I use thermistors to compare resistance based on temp? Thermistor #1 for ambient, #2 for HVAC vent, where if higher resistance on #1 (lower temp?) would indicate hotter air coming from vent.
I'm pretty good at searching. If anyone has some other terms or maybe links, again, I'd greatly appreciate it.
Webpager - Upfitter, computer guy, car guy. I can't tell the difference between Columbian or African coffee, but I knew at age 4 the difference between volts, watts and ohms.
oldspark 
Gold spacespace