the12volt.com spacer
icon

car alarm in toy hauler?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dschlyer 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: October 25, 2014 at 5:04 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote dschlyer
I purchased the Viper 5706v with the intent to install it in my toy hauler now and at a later date move it to a hot rod I'm building. I sent Directed Electronics an email before purchasing to see if it would work but never received a reply. Perhaps there still laughing! I have been trying to do a bench, proof of concept, before doing the actual install but I'm having little success. Obviously I need to pair down the many feature of the 5706v. I have an electronics tech degree but have not worked in the field for many years. I have tried to access the Directed-installer support site but am denied access.
equipment: Viper 5706v, Dual Zone Motion Sensor-508d, tilt sensor-507m, stinger double guard shock sensor.
tonanzith 
Gold - Posts: 593
Gold spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: October 25, 2014 at 5:36 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote tonanzith
As long as you have a battery in your toy hauler with a good reserve capacity or plug in to recharge via the tou haulers converter if equipped with one, the viper will work. We have installed alarms in many RV's toy haulers campers and trailers. Pm me or email me and we can advise.
Gary Sather
catback 
Silver - Posts: 703
Silver spacespace
Posted: October 25, 2014 at 5:44 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote catback
It's doable, but it's definitely a custom job. Going to need a battery in the trailer (assuming your toy hauler is a trailer). Getting the siren and antenna able to reach the outside world is another obstacle.
A person of your skill level can accomplish this task so have fun.