icon

building sub box

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
alberto gonzale 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: October 26, 2014 at 8:58 AM / IP Logged  
Hello Everybody I am trying to build a subwoofer box for 2 12" sundown woofers. The specs say I need 2.5 cubic feet tuned at 32hz. My question is do I need a total of 5cubic feet and can it be tuned at 30hz.? I'm still learning about the hertz stuff so please bear with me.
tonanzith 
Gold - Posts: 593
Gold spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: October 26, 2014 at 6:45 PM / IP Logged  
Your correct about 5 cubic ft. As far as tuning to 30hz yes you can. Look in to bassbox pro software. It will help.
Gary Sather
soundnsecurity 
Gold - Posts: 2,711
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 27, 2014 at 7:32 PM / IP Logged  
im guessing that you plan on building a ported/vented box for those subs. going off of factory specs can be a bit confusing when you are trying to change the shape of the box but still end up with the same specs so maybe i can clear some stuff up for you that will make it easier to design your box.
one thing that most people dont realize is that when they tell you the sub needs 2.5 cubic feet that they mean internal NET airspace after you subtract the volume of the sub woofer, port volume, and any internal bracing. usually when you just build a box going exactly by the manufactures dimensions and cut list they will already take these things into account and you are left with the necessary airspace. if you would go and add it all up what the gross internal volume of the factory spec box you will see that it is going to be a good bit bigger than 2.5 cubic feet.