the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2001 Dodge Intrepid, Which Remote Starter?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
sportsfreaked 
Member - Posts: 31
Member spacespace
Posted: November 19, 2014 at 4:30 PM / IP Logged  
Hello, Newbie here. What a fantastic site! OMG such great information!
I want to put a remote starter in my wife's car. She is working outside the home for the first time in 20 years. She has a 2001 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 non skim key. It has keyless entry already and power trunk and I would like to only have one remote. I don't want a system that uses the factory remote because the range stinks.I know it's a pain in the butt from what I've read.
My question is which remote start would be the best to go with without breaking the bank? If it comes with security so be it. I want one that has good range. Also where is the best place to get the relays and the resistors I need? Can you guys and gals give me some ideas of brands to look at. Thanks for the time!
As always thanks for the information and help! It's greatly appreciated
smokeman1 
Platinum - Posts: 1,588
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 19, 2014 at 6:23 PM / IP Logged  
While everyone has a favorite system to use, I prefer Viper 5301 type of remote starter. Similar units are Python 580, Clifford 1.3x, Newer Vipers are 4204, 4806, 4706. All pretty much the same stuff, just different remotes and range. These are all two way systems.
All a matter of what features you are looking for and ow much you want to pay. You will also need a bypass. I have used DB-ALL with great success. Other people hate them. I have also used stuff from idatalink, and Fortin bypasses all work great.