Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
epg 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: November 24, 2014 at 5:03 PM / IP Logged  
Hi!
This will be my first topic here! :)
I am currently in the progress of installing a Viper 5906 system into a 1988 Volkswagen Vanagon.
Because I have never done this before (never worked with car alarms but are pretty comfortable with the rest of the electrical wiring in the vehicle) and and in addition the manual is in English and I am Swedish there is a lot of small issues that I need to tackle.
Of course I do understand English but when it comes to technical terms I do not find it that easy any longer.
At the top of the main unit there is a little slot, underneath the hatch you will find a small 10A fuse. The fuse can be installed in two different positions, positive or negative light flash polarity. Which type of polarity do I have in my vehicle? I guess most of the european cars have the same?
There is 11 connectors at the main unit, Some of them would not be needed, one is for the shock sensor, one is for the RF signal reciever, one is for the door lock output and one is for the neutral safety switch.
Why do I need that switch? What is the purpose?
In addition to these, there are also 3 main connectors:
Main harness connector(6 pins)
Remote start harness connector (10 pins)
Auxilary/Shutdown/Trigger harness connector (24 pins)
At the main harness connector you will find these pins:
1: +12VDC supply voltage (no questions about what the purpose of this one is for)
2: Chassis ground earth (no questions about this one either)
3: Siren output (I have connected the positive connector of the siren to this one, the negative one is connected to ground earth)
4: Parking light isolation wire (???)
5: Parking light output (connected to the parking lights +12VDC)
6: Ground when armed output (I understand that this connector has ground potential when the alarm is activated but I do not understand what the purpose is)