icon

dball2 and idatalink thoughts

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
rcb11 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: December 14, 2014 at 11:28 AM / IP Logged  
So I thought I would share what I experienced during a couple of installs lately. A little background: I am not a professional mobile installer, but have worked as a tech in the commercial fire /security industry for 25+ years, I have done a half dozen or so remote starters for family and friends.
    My first one this fall was in my son's 2002 Nissan Altima, and it went great. I used a Bulldog Deluxe 500 (inexpensive and easy to get) with a DEI Xpresskit PKALL, no issues.
   The second was my daughter's 2010 Mazda 6 (w/o smartkey), here is where I had problems. I used the Bulldog 500 again, with a Dball2. I could not get the Dball2 to talk to the CAN bus, no matter what I did, I had it down to just 12v,grnd,CAN high,CAN low,ignition,GWR,and the TX and RX to the PATS connected, could not get it to program, I did reverse the TX and RX connections, and also the CAN high and low connections just in case, but still no go. ( I did talk to Directed tech support, but could not come up with a solution), so I gave up, and ordered an Idatalink TB (after reading recommendations here on the site). It worked great, no problems, granted it is not talking to the CAN bus. Wondering if anyone else has seen this on a Mazda?