the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

astroflex wiring


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
waym 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Joined: March 06, 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: March 07, 2009 at 4:41 PM / IP Logged  

I recently got a Astroflex starter as a gift to install into a 1999 Windstar.  The model of the astroflex control module is a HGA and the remote is a QS-5AU.

I found the wiring information in this site and was comparing the connections required in the astroflex manual.  My question is,  since the wiring information shows ignition 1, 2 & 3 connection points and the astroflex only has one wire for the ignition connection, which one should I connect to or do I connect all 3 together onto the one wire? 

loneranger 
Copper - Posts: 573
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 28, 2008
Posted: March 07, 2009 at 6:03 PM / IP Logged  
12 VOLT CONSTANT  RED (+) and LIGHT GREEN/ PURPLE (+)   IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS  
 STARTER GREEN (+)  IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS  
 STARTER 2 N/A  
 IGNITION 1 WHITE/ YELLOW (+) IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS 
 IGNITION 2 PURPLE / ORANGE (+) IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS  
 IGNITION 3 N/A    
 ACCESSORY /HEATER BLOWER 1 BLACK/ LIGHT GREEN (+)  IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS  
 ACCESSORY /HEATER BLOWER 2 BLACK (+)  IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS  
Ideal - cmon dude, add to topics in a useful manner, not stuff that is obvious.
Story - Phzzzt! Hey, what happened?! ... Isn't it obvious?
Moral - Never dismiss the obvious.
waym 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Joined: March 06, 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: March 07, 2009 at 11:10 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks loneranger, so does that mean that the single ignition input wire from the astroflex should connect to both ignition 1 and 2?. 
loneranger 
Copper - Posts: 573
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 28, 2008
Posted: March 08, 2009 at 3:42 AM / IP Logged  
No. You need to relay isolate.
Ideal - cmon dude, add to topics in a useful manner, not stuff that is obvious.
Story - Phzzzt! Hey, what happened?! ... Isn't it obvious?
Moral - Never dismiss the obvious.
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,086
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: December 14, 2004
Location: Isle Of Man
Posted: March 08, 2009 at 8:20 PM / IP Logged  

Use the P5 connection. Program it for ign. in level 9

This is a programable bosch style built in relay.

waym 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Joined: March 06, 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: March 08, 2009 at 11:59 PM / IP Logged  

Thanks guys,  another question,  when I use the P5 connection built in relay,  would I need to bring a separate wire back from the battery or can I tap off of one of the constant 12v from the ignition switch harness?.   Is it required to hook up the accessory heater blower 2 if I have blower 1 connected or is that a preference thing?.  Thanks in advance for all your help.

loneranger 
Copper - Posts: 573
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 28, 2008
Posted: March 09, 2009 at 1:31 AM / IP Logged  
  • Use the same source that powers that wire, when using the key.
  • Mimicking the function of the key is always desirable.
Ideal - cmon dude, add to topics in a useful manner, not stuff that is obvious.
Story - Phzzzt! Hey, what happened?! ... Isn't it obvious?
Moral - Never dismiss the obvious.
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,086
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: December 14, 2004
Location: Isle Of Man
Posted: March 09, 2009 at 12:05 PM / IP Logged  

The 3rd ign is needed only if the rig has the rear heater... without the yellow ign connected you cannot control the fan speed.

Pull all the power you need from the 12v at the ign. harness. Yes you will need to 'feed" the P5 relay 12 v.

The 3 connectors represent 3 pins from a statndard relay. 87, 87a, and 30

waym 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Joined: March 06, 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: March 09, 2009 at 7:48 PM / IP Logged  

There are 2 - 12 volt constant available in the ignition harness, a red and RED / black wire.  How would I know which 12V feeds which loads?.

The van does have a rear heater, but I don't really need that to work during the remote start.  Would it be ok to leave that one alone?

Thanks

KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,086
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: December 14, 2004
Location: Isle Of Man
Posted: March 10, 2009 at 2:43 AM / IP Logged  

If you have 2 12v constants.... divide them up.... put a couple here, put  couple there.... (put 2 on one, and 2 on another, it doesn't really matter)

If your not concerned with the rear heat.... don't worry about ign. 3

Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, July 22, 2017 • Copyright © 1999-2017 the12volt.com Donate to the12volt.com Advertising Top of Page
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Donate to the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer