the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Help Air horns hook up. Clifford Alarm


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
BXTale 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: March 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: March 25, 2003 at 9:38 AM / IP Logged  

Hello

Need some info on air horns hook up info in my Honda with a Clifford Intelliguard 8000.

I have the air horns hooked up to my OEM horn right now using a realy set up just like the way it is directed from Hella. Now I want to hook my aux alarm output  option to sound the air horns from my Clifford alarm. How is is done?

Is it hook up to the same wire that is tapped from my OEM (-) ground? Do I need a Diode?

Also will the Air horns sound when I arm/disarm or will they only go off when triggered?

Thanx Siri

"Da Pride Of Kingsbridge"
cpgoose 
Gold - Posts: 1,111
Gold spacespace
Joined: July 08, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: March 25, 2003 at 11:06 AM / IP Logged  
Let me just make sure I have this correct...
You currently have the airhorns hooked up to your car's horn so they sound when you press the horn.
Now you want to also hook them up to your alarm's siren so they go off when the alarm goes off. Is this correct?
If so, I guess you would do it the same way as in this diagram, only you would replace the headlight with your airhorns. I hooked up my horn to my alarm's siren so they both go off in this manner. It only sounds the horn when the alarm goes off, not when I arm/disarm. All it took was a relay and a flasher.
posted_image
Now, if you were saying that you want to hookup the airhorns to an extra channel on your alarm, so you can hit a button on your remote and have the airhorns sound, then that's a little different. I'm pretty sure you need a relay to go to the airhorns, and to the alarm's aux channel.
BXTale 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: March 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: March 25, 2003 at 1:31 PM / IP Logged  

Yes, I have my airhorns hook up to my OEM horns, so when I toot my horns both the OEM horns and airhorns goes off.

Now my Clifford has a seperate wire just for the Airhorns. The alarm wire front the brain to the siren is its own. It has it own snap connectors for the siren. I am not tapping into this wire. But a whole seperate wire just for the airhorns.

http://www.directed.com/guides/manuals/ig/clifford/intelliguard8000_install.pdf

See the yellow wire for optonal air horns, the negative one.

Can this yellow wire be tapped into the wire from the stock horn that is connected to the realay for the airhorns, or do I need a diode for this setup.

Thanx

 

 

"Da Pride Of Kingsbridge"
BXTale 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: March 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: March 27, 2003 at 7:46 AM / IP Logged  

Can someone take a look at the wiring diagram for my clifford alarm and help me out?

So do I need a diode for this hook up? Or and I just take the yellow wire and tap it into relay, this  also has a wire from my OEM horn hooked up to it already.  I want to be able to use the airhorns and still have them goe of when the alarm is triggered.

Thanx

"Da Pride Of Kingsbridge"
cpgoose 
Gold - Posts: 1,111
Gold spacespace
Joined: July 08, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: March 27, 2003 at 8:32 AM / IP Logged  
hey, sorry to leave ya hangin'....but I'm not sure if you
need a diode or not. I'll leave this to the expertsposted_image
netZ 
Member - Posts: 27
Member spacespace
Joined: June 16, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: March 27, 2003 at 11:37 AM / IP Logged  
this is very easy, i've done this for a few cars...
make sure the yellow wire of the clifford alarm is set to Pulsed. attach that yellow wire to Pin 85, Pin 86 & Pin 87 to a fused 12 volt connection. Pin 30 to your + of the air horn compressor.
tap a 10-12 gauge wire from your OEM horns to the + of the air horn compressor and bump up your fuse with rating of 5 additional amps.
when you press your horn button your air horns and oem horns will go off.
when your alarm goes off, the clifford siren, the air horns & the oem horns will sound off as well.
the air horns will not go off when you disarm/arm your alarm. this is a dedicated alarm siren output.
pretty neat eh?
netZ
BXTale wrote:

Hello

Need some info on air horns hook up info in my Honda with a Clifford Intelliguard 8000.

I have the air horns hooked up to my OEM horn right now using a realy set up just like the way it is directed from Hella. Now I want to hook my aux alarm output  option to sound the air horns from my Clifford alarm. How is is done?

Is it hook up to the same wire that is tapped from my OEM (-) ground? Do I need a Diode?

Also will the Air horns sound when I arm/disarm or will they only go off when triggered?

Thanx Siri

BXTale 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: March 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: March 27, 2003 at 11:55 AM / IP Logged  

[QUOTE=netZ]

tap a 10-12 gauge wire from your OEM horns to the + of the air horn compressor and bump up your fuse with rating of 5 additional amps.
netZ 

Can this wire be  hooked to the relay instead of the + of the airhorn comp, I want the compressor to get the full current from the battery instead of power from the thin OEM horn wire? And which terminal of the relay does this get hooked up too? That is what I really want to do, that is why I was wondering if a diode is needed.

"Da Pride Of Kingsbridge"
netZ 
Member - Posts: 27
Member spacespace
Joined: June 16, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: March 27, 2003 at 12:57 PM / IP Logged  
won't work...
the wire off the oem horn is typically +, the yellow wire of the clifford alarm is -. if you're thinking of just using a single relay... not going to happen.
The only time the OEM horn system powers your compressor is when you use the horn button in the vehicle, otherwise the relay will send current to the air horn compressor & to the oem stock horns.
Yellow Wire to Pin 85
Fused 12 volt connection to Pin 86 & Pin 87
Pin 30 to + of air compressor
OEM Horn wire to + of air compressor
Bump up your oem stock horn fuse by 5 amps.
don't think a diode will help much... unless you can get a high amperage one.
netZ
BXTale wrote:

[QUOTE=netZ]

tap a 10-12 gauge wire from your OEM horns to the + of the air horn compressor and bump up your fuse with rating of 5 additional amps.
netZ 

Can this wire be  hooked to the relay instead of the + of the airhorn comp, I want the compressor to get the full current from the battery instead of power from the thin OEM horn wire? And which terminal of the relay does this get hooked up too? That is what I really want to do, that is why I was wondering if a diode is needed.

netZ 
Member - Posts: 27
Member spacespace
Joined: June 16, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: March 27, 2003 at 1:02 PM / IP Logged  
let me reiterate...
you can use 2 relays to what you describe, but the oem horn wire can easily power the air compressor as long as the fuse amperage is upped another 5 amps.
netZ

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 • Copyright © 1999-2017 the12volt.com Donate to the12volt.com Advertising Top of Page
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Donate to the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer