icon

Diode across coil on a relay?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
blazo 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Posted: April 02, 2003 at 1:43 PM / IP Logged  
on alot of the diagrams i see on this site, a diode is placed across the coil of the realay. I have been installing for over 3 years, and i've never seen or heard of this. what effect does it have on the relay, what is the outcome, and what would it be used for??? if someone could explain this to me, i would appricate it. thank you
scuba1954 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Posted: April 02, 2003 at 2:16 PM / IP Logged  

Here is a link from this site about diodes and their purposes. At the very bottom is specifically addresses why diodes are used across relays.

https://www.the12volt.com/diodes/diodes.asp

blazo 
Member spacespace
Posted: April 06, 2003 at 7:11 PM / IP Logged  
it reads.....
Diode across the coil of a relay:
The diode provides a path for current when the current path to the relay is interrupted (i.e. switched off). This allows the coil field to collapse without the voltage spike that would otherwise be generated. The diode protects switch or relay contacts and other circuits that may be sensitive to voltage spikes.
this helps me little, i'm trying to see how it would be applied. does it make the relay stay open longer, closed longer, does it change anything about the relay??? does it make it require more current to open, less current?? what is an example of when you would use this?? can anyone esplain this to me?
thanx
blazo 
Member spacespace
Posted: April 06, 2003 at 7:26 PM / IP Logged