dual or 3 alternators

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
truckdriverman 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2015 at 12:44 AM / IP Logged  
Greetings to All..
This is my first post here but I am not new to this sort of thing, just never done what I am wanting to do and hoping I can get some guidance from someone that has experience with this.
As you might guess by my username I drive a truck for a living. I just purchased a new (to me truck)that is equipped with an APU. What is an APU you ask? It is an assembly of parts that is designed to provide heat, A/C and 110v to the cab/sleeper of a truck so that the driver does not have to run the truck engine all night to eat/sleep/whatever.. They normally run on a small diesel engine that burns about 25% of the fuel that the big motor uses per hour. They are pretty expensive normally running from $6,000 to almost $12,000 installed.
So anyway... my APU is no longer made. The company went out of business a few years ago and some (most)of the parts are no longer available. The engine part runs just fine and it is a brand/model that is used in many current APUs so parts for it are no problem. The issue is the generator section of the unit. It is supposed to put out 6kw of 110volt AC. It does not.
"IF" I am able to find a power head to replace the DOA one it will run about $2,000. I am looking to find a more economical way to get the rest of the system operational until I can afford to replace the entire thing with a new APU.
What I am thinking about doing is using the good diesel engine to power 2 or 3 165a alternators that I can get new for about $200 each. I already have an inverter sufficiently large to run what I need to run, I just need a way to power it and keep the batteries charged.