the12volt.com spacer
icon

98 ram 1500 door lock issue

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
o90110 
Member - Posts: 1
Member spacespace
Posted: January 24, 2015 at 11:56 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote o90110
I have a 98 Dodge Ram 1500 pickup and I installed the viper 5701 alarm/remote start. I'm a mechanic and know my way around pretty good so the instal went fairly easy....until I started wiring the door locks. My issue is when both door lock circuits are wired in, both the lock and unlock button on the remote only locks the doors.door lock switches on truck work fine all time. I've tried wiring multiple ways using relays and every time same outcome. If only the unlock circuit is wired in the unlock works fine. If only the lock circuit is wired the lock works fine. Whith both circuits wired both lock and unlock button on remote only lock the doors every time. I'm in dier need of help and would greatly appreciate any input. Main wires I'm using coming from the driver door by kickpanel is orange with purple and pink with purple which are both power signals when button is pushed. also have a orange with black and pink with black that feeds passenger switch. Vehicle does not have oem alarm but is equipped with oem keyless entry.   PLEASE HELP IN ANY WAY!!!!
davep. 
Gold - Posts: 641
Gold spacespace
Posted: January 25, 2015 at 12:58 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote davep.
2 relays. One for lock, one for unlock. Cut the orn/pur and pnk/pur in two.
Lock Relay:
87a = orn/pur towards the left door
30 = orn/pur towards the right door
87 = 12V fused
85 = Ground
86 = Blue 5701 (+)lock output
Unlock Relay:
87a = pnk/pur towards the left door
30 = pnk/pur towards the right door
87 = 12V fused
85 = Ground
86 = Green 5701 (+)unlock output.
Ignore the orn/blk and pnk/blk. Don't connect to, cut, or do anything with those two. Try the relays wired as above. It will work.
darrinallen 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace