the12volt.com spacer
icon

Viper 4806v MTS mode

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
eanema 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: April 21, 2015 at 4:38 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote eanema
Hi All,
First off:
-I am not a professional installer
-I am an electrical engineer, with understanding of complex electrical systems
-I only have the quick install guide for the 4806v, and an install guide for a similar system
With that out of the way, I am installing the system into a 1998 4runner with manual transmission. I have successfully installed the unit into the vehicle only connecting the wires that I felt were needed to make the remote start work (I'm planning to connect the rest up later - a minimal install).
When I program the unit into Automatic mode (just as a test - don't worry guys - I didn't leave it) it worked fine. The car started and everything was good and happy. I also tested to make sure the tach was configured correctly by attempting to start the vehicle with out the connection - it failed as expected so I know that the tach is configured and correctly connected.
Then I programmed the vehicle into manual transmission mode and attempted to enter the reservation mode (in order to remote start the vehicle). This is where the failure occurred. I started the vehicle with the key, then pressed the foot brake, pulled the hand brake, released the foot brake then pressed the remote start button on the FOB. The FOB then played a sound that I can only describe as "I can't do what you asked me to" then when I removed the key to begin the exit procedure the engine turns off instead of remaining to run (and wait for me to exit the vehicle and press the lock button)
I have connected the following signals:
Main Harness, 6 pin connector
H/1 RED    (+)12VDC CONSTANT INPUT
H/2 BLACK (-) CHASSIS GROUND
H/3 BROWN (-) 200mA HORN HONK OUTPUT
H/6 ORANGE 500 mA GROUND WHEN ARMED OUTPUT
did not connect pin 4 & 5: