the12volt.com spacer
icon

'02 Jeep Grand Cherokee Remote Start Install

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
hoobie7 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: November 21, 2015 at 9:07 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote hoobie7
I have a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee with factory alarm and transponder keys.
Here are my parts:
Viper 4806V remote start
DEI 457CW Chrysler Door Lock Interface
DEI 555C-W Transponder Bypass
I've been using the pictorial found HERE.
I have found two vehicle wiring diagrams that conflict slightly HERE and HERE.
I have some electronics background but I am trying to decide if this is more than I should tackle.
My biggest questions right now are "Does this look right?" and "Do I need a relay for flashing the parking lights?"
Below is my current wiring diagram I plan to use, hopefully it's readable.
'02 Jeep Grand Cherokee Remote Start Install -- posted image.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,781
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 21, 2015 at 9:36 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357

I have never used the 457C or 555CW modules but, I have found a few errors.

H1/5 can go to the Parking Light wire with a 1,300 ohm resistor in-line.  Just set the Viper internal jumper/fuse to (-).

On the 24 Pin harness, Pin 17 is not used.  Do not connect it to the (+) IGN1 wire.

Both bypass modules are looking for a (-) GWR input from the R/S.  Instead of using the Dark Blue (-) Status Output

for both, use it for only one and then use the Blue/White (-) 2nd Status Output for the other.

On the very important H3 harness, Pin 4 and 7 must go to a +12V constant source.  All fused RED / xxx wires get +12V