the12volt.com spacer
icon

Electric Fan Complex Design

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
nissans15 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: December 02, 2015 at 6:04 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote nissans15
Hi All,
I am fairly new to the electronic's side of automotive so correct me where I am wrong.
Regarding this post, my car is a Nissan Silvia S15.
To reduce space in my engine bay and eliminate draw from the engine the clutch fan is being removed and being replaced with a twin electric fan setup from a Ford AU Falcon. I want to use the stock temperature sensor which provides a voltage depending on the temperature reading. I also want to have the fans switch to on when the AC is on, this is done using the ECU pin 9.
These fans were made to run on LOW, supplying 6V to each fan in SERIES and on HIGH, supplying 12V to each fan in PARALLEL.
Wiring Diagram for the AU Falcon is below
Electric Fan Complex Design -- posted image.
In order to use the stock temperature sensor, I will be using a JayCar Voltage Switch for each setting (HIGH/LOW).
Disregarding the ECU section of the problem the circuit diagrams I have designed below
In Series on the LOW setting
In Parallel on the HIGH Setting
NOTE: the switches shown is the voltage switch which is not showing the input voltage to the switch and the temperature reading, this is just to make it easier to understand.
To incorporate the ECU into the diagram, more relays were added to make sure that two voltages aren't inputted to the fan at the same time and that when HIGH setting is active, then the other settings are not.
NOTE: The ECU acts as a ground switch, when the AC is on the ground is accessible. The 5 pin relays are only used as a guide as the program I was using didn't have the 4 pin relay Normally closed.
Basically, my problem is that there are too many relays making this complex and that I have been told to integrate diodes to make sure that there is not backward voltage.