the12volt.com spacer
icon

Hi everyone, audio wiring

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
kingtj 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: January 10, 2016 at 8:26 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kingtj
I'm new to this forum, although I've been messing around with car audio and electronics for many years.
My most recent project and challenge has been trying to get the factory "Alpine premium audio" in my 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited so it actually sounds "premium". Mind you, I do have a budget so haven't been going all out with expensive Focal speakers and what-not, and the big "catch" is, I want to accomplish as much as possible while keeping the factory RHR-730n head unit in the Jeep.
Right now, I'm at a point where things sound FAR better than they did and I could almost just stop and live with this as "good enough", EXCEPT I'm still fighting with an AudioControl DQDX I installed in the rear (in a tray above the jack storage area near the tailgate).
Basically, I have a JL Audio 700 watt marine type 6 channel power amp under my front passenger seat powering everything, and that works fine (no hiss or noise issues at all). When I add the AudioControl, I get better sound with the ability it brings to EQ everything and to control the level of the bass sub -- BUT I also get alternator whine and hiss/static creeping in. I've torn the whole thing out and redone it twice now, and really thought I had it all working properly this time until the other morning. The weather was pretty cold, so maybe that made a difference. But what happened is everything sounded ok for the first 10 minutes or so I was driving, and all of a sudden, I got a bunch of hiss out of the rear speakers and what seemed like a reduced volume level from the front, driver's side. I also heard alternator whine along with the hiss. If I turned the head unit off and back on, the problem went away for a minute but came back.