the12volt.com spacer
icon

12v circuit breaker to trip when alarm triggered

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
chrisxiv 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Posted: March 18, 2017 at 2:28 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote chrisxiv
What's up guys and gals.. I've been a long time lurker here and I'm a seasoned 12volt installer for almost 2 decades now.
Anyway, I'm looking to do something a little bit differently on this truck I've been working on... It's a highly modified 2000 GMC Sierra. It has a lot of aftermarket parts installed and is a high commodity on the black market, to say the very least. While I was just wiring up a dedicated circuit for a high flow fuel pump the other day, the idea dawned upon me to wire an inline circuit breaker to the constant power line of the fuel pump circuit...
Then instead of using the typical starter kill, OEM passlock 2 from GM, (which are both worthless preventive theft devices to any experienced car thief) I could use this circuit breaker as a manual fuel pump kill method. I'm not going To disclose where I plan on hiding the relay, for obvious reasons...
But basically what I'm looking to do is use the Alarm trigger Output, which normally sounds the alarms siren for 30 seconds(or additional backup battery/siren), from the Viper 5702 alarm module to trigger a relay that will intentionally short out and trip the in-line circuit breaker to the dedicated circuit on the fuel pump. This way, any time the alarm is triggered(I don't use warn away chirps on any of my doors or hood, etc) the circuit breaker will be shorted out by the alarms output to the siren or backup battery/siren. The breaker will then need to be manually flipped back on to close the circuit in order for the fuel pump to work again.