the12volt.com spacer
icon

2003 Monaco motorhome

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
rpasetto 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: July 02, 2017 at 8:05 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote rpasetto
Kenny, A great idea. I filled out the template form for my 2003 Monaco motorhome. This may be different from other vehicle issues. I hope I am posting in the correct place. I'm a newbie here so I am not sure if I can start a new thread.
My motorhome has a remote keyless system which is no longer made; likewise the MH manufacturer went thru bankruptcy and two new owners. The current keyless entry receiver works but I have only one working remote which is barely working (only at a range of 2' or less) so I am looking to replace the keyless entry receiver and remotes. After looking at numerous brands it appears that the Viper 211HV or equivalent Avital 2101L would fit the bill. There may be others but the range and relatively good rep of the company pointed me in that direction. I have a few questions before I choose that model.
Looking at their wiring chart I want to be sure I understand what is going on inside these units. For example, the "LOCK wiring (H1-5 to 7) are labeled "#30 COMMON OUTPUT" "#87 NORMALLY CLOSED" and "#87 NORMALLY OPEN (INPUT)". [The last one in particular is puzzling, or is there a tyupo?) Usually the terminology for "87a" type relays is that when at rest, terminals 30 and 87a are connected, eg "87a" is normally closed, and when energized, terminals 30 and 87 are connected, eg "87" is normally open. The "input" in the above note seems to be referring to some sensor, but maybe not. Similar question in their diagram for the "UNLOCK" wires (H1-8,9,17) they do call 87a normally closed here.