the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2003 Silverado Amp Install?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dsoren10 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Joined: May 11, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: May 12, 2004 at 6:22 PM / IP Logged  

I have a 2003 silverado with the in dash 6 disk changer, bose sound system, no on-star.  I am wanting to add a 10" boston sub and and xtant 300 watt amplifier.  I originally just got my signal for the amp from the speakers at the rear doors, until i realized that there was an amplifier independent of the deck.  My question now is how should i hook it all up to get the best sound out of it.  I have seen that PAC makes some products that seems like they would work.  But how would this be any different that just tapping the wires from the deck into the amp to get my signal.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks alot!

forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,378
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 01, 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: May 12, 2004 at 7:26 PM / IP Logged  

You are fine getting the signal off of the rear doors as long as the LOC you have can handle that "hot" of a signal. If the amp has a crossover on those lines then it will be necessary to go to the front door speakers. I really doubt that there is a crossover on the rear speakers. PAC and others make some very good adaptors that will work just fine for you. Another option is a good high power LOC ----> active crossover with dash mounted level control ----> amplifier. This will afford you the flexibility of controlling the amount of sub bass indipendent from the level of the rest of the speakers and will allow you to leave the potentially damaging bass control on the stock deck set at minimum. Have a look at a nice little gadget like the Crossfire CX2L + bass remote (if it does not come with it). It has a good LOC built in and will handle most everything that you need it to do.

www.crossfirecaraudio.com

Top Secret, I can tell you but then my wife will kill me.
sam1 
Copper - Posts: 151
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 03, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: May 13, 2004 at 3:37 PM / IP Logged  
you might be able to splice in to the signal wire for the factory amp as well.  otherwise, ^^^thats what i do.  damn youre good rob=).

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Thursday, February 23, 2017 • Copyright © 1999-2017 the12volt.com Donate to the12volt.com Advertising Top of Page
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Donate to the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer