the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Remote Starter Starts & Shuts Off


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Spit 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: November 08, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: November 08, 2004 at 3:30 PM / IP Logged  

I have a Avital Hurricane I ithat's nstalled in a 1997 Chevy Blazer.  Recently when attempting to start via the remote starter the engine starts runs for 3-5 seconds and quits.  Sometimes it attempts to restart on it's own but this fails also.  It has been working fine up to this time.   I noticed that when I start it with the key that the needle for the voltmeter goes from the rest position to 13-14 volts right away.  But that when remotely started the needle seems to hover around 10 volts or so...until I turn the key to the on position

I stopped by a Avital dealer who told me it sounded like a tachometer/wiring problem.  He said they might have to reset the tach?  But he couldn't explain what that meant or how I could check it or reset it myself.

If anyone has and ideas how to check this or any other ideas I should look at I would really appreciate it,

Spit

Teken 
Gold - Posts: 1,510
Gold spacespace
Joined: August 04, 2002
Location: Aruba
Posted: November 08, 2004 at 4:18 PM / IP Logged  
Are you sure your RS is a Hurricane?? Please confirm for us.
Knowledge is power. But only if you apply that knowledge in a positive way, which promotes positive results in others.
EVIL Teken . . .
audiopro111 
Copper - Posts: 160
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 24, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: November 08, 2004 at 8:58 PM / IP Logged  
more than likely u have to recalibrate your passlock interface to the right resistence,do you notice if your security light comes on when it fails?
AudioPro111
Spit 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: November 08, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: November 09, 2004 at 8:11 AM / IP Logged  

  Teken

   It definitely is a Hurricane. It labeled as a Hurricane not a  Hurricane II  just a plain Hurricane

  Audiopro

    Do you mean the status light on the dashboard?  And when you say comes on..do you mean flash, stay on solid etc.  The car is at college this week with my daughter and, I'll call her and ask her to tell me what happens for sure.    How do I recalibrate it?

audiopro111 
Copper - Posts: 160
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 24, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: November 09, 2004 at 8:33 PM / IP Logged  
stays on is the question and to recalibrate or set is more like it you have to find the passlock wires usually on this car should be one yellow wire that more than likely was cut and a black wire of the same gauge that is the ground side of the passlock basically you have to find  the correct resistence value at ignition when vehicle is running using a digital multimeter. connect blk lead from meter on blk wire and and just for the mean while connect yellow wire back together and attach red lead from meter to this yellow wire .Now set your meter to 12 volts DC with the key out of ignition the display on meter should read 4volts to 5 point something volts each vehicle varies this is an example then put key into ignition Now the meter display will show u a different  voltage value something like 2.6 or 3.2volts these #'s are just examples once u get a steady value on that display with key in ignition get a pen and write this # down so u won't forget..     ok now  disconnect red lead and remove key from ignition reconnect yellow wire like it was before now attach red lead to the yellow wire on the side that goes to body control module NOT the side that goes to ignition ......ok one other thing i forgot to mention most of those passlock bypass wires have a constant 12 volt wire a 2nd ignition wire a ground wire a wire that goes to black wire that i mentioned above and two other wires that go to the yellow wire i mentioned above that only leaves us with one other wire that gets the negative signal from remote start that activates bypass during remote start mode ok now this wire u can disconnect from bypass for now .start your vehicle like normal with the KEY now the display should give the reading you wrote down before.  once this is established take that wire u disconnected and touch ground for a second now the meter display will show a totally different value and you security light on dash will come on solid ,..get a small screwdriver usually a flat head and on that bypass there should be a small screw (dial) that can be turned clockwise or counterclockwise turn dial until u reach the value that u originally wrote down , once u do that turn vehicle off and security light on dash will shut off as well. Now restart once more and tap that wire back onto ground for a second and if security light DOES NOT come on again then U DID IT !!!!! now reconnect that wire that u were grounding back to where it was ,turn off vehicle and try to REMOTE START. if this is too much to swollow or your unsure u can't handle it.. no one  will hold it against you   your better off taking it to a tech..Hope this works for u GOOD LUCKposted_image
AudioPro111
auex 
Platinum - Posts: 5,082
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: December 23, 2002
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: November 09, 2004 at 8:38 PM / IP Logged  
Hold on there turbo. Does the factory orange security light in the instrument cluster turn on and stay on while attempting to remote start? Actually just describe what that light does.
Certified Security Specialist
Always check info with a digital multimeter.
I promise to be good.
Tell Darwin I sent you.
I've been sick lately, sorry I won't be on much.
Spit 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: November 08, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: November 10, 2004 at 7:19 AM / IP Logged  

Teken wrote:
Are you sure your RS is a Hurricane?? Please confirm for us.

Here are the model numbers I took off of the unit a while back.  there are 2 boxes connceted to togther with plastic ty-wraps

One is marked as   Hurricane  2FT0681H7AA  5303-1152  Aviatl Hurricane

The second is marked  Q Start 2DC1515K6KA  65390 Avital  AX2966KA

 Hope this clarifies what I am dealing with

Chuck

civicdownlow 
Member - Posts: 27
Member spacespace
Joined: August 14, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: November 10, 2004 at 10:23 AM / IP Logged  
a 97 blazer shouldnt have passlock first year in the trucks was 98
Velocity Motors 
Moderator - Posts: 12,602
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Fabrication. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 08, 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posted: November 10, 2004 at 11:09 AM / IP Logged  
Recalibrate the tach signal. Make sure that the truck is at it's lowest RPM idle before attempting to relearn the tach signal.
Jeff
Velocity Custom Home Theater
Mobile Audio/Video Specialist
Morden, Manitoba CANADA
Spit 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: November 08, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: November 10, 2004 at 12:29 PM / IP Logged  

This site is great! 

Audiopro111, I really appreciate all the input.  civicdownlow is correct this 1997 Blazer doesn't have Passlock..my 96 Lumina sedan did;  I guess they didn't put it on the "truck' line until later.  I haven't been able to get an answer from my daughter as far as if the orange security light in the cluster stays on when trying to remote start.

If it is a matter of recalibrating the tach how do I do that with a non-Passlock vehicle. Velocity Motors can you or anyone else  tell me the steps are to "re-learning" the tach signal?  I am fairly handy, have a digital voltmeter and a few tech skills.  If you can give me a little bit of a "idiot's guide to tach recalibration" I should be able to handle it from there.

Chuck

Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 • Copyright © 1999-2017 the12volt.com Donate to the12volt.com Advertising Top of Page
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Donate to the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer