the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer

No Ground While Running Output

Display List of Forum Members Member List Forum Search Search Register Register Login Login
Post ReplyPost New Topic

< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jayyzr 
Copper - Posts: 116
Copper This member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.
Joined: May 14, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: December 26, 2005 at 10:40 PM / IP Logged  
I ran into a remote starter made by Impulse... the model is imp 4040.... I was installing it on a 2001 chevy malibu. On the By pass module it asks for a Ground while running input to activate the module.. The Remote starter dosn't have an 3rd ignition wire, or any wire that could be used as a ground while running. It has an alarm disarm but that only last a second not during the whole remote start. I was wondering is there a way I could somehow use a relay to make a ground while running wire?? If So HOW???
Taking It 1 Wire @ A Time...
jayyzr 
Copper - Posts: 116
Copper This member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.
Joined: May 14, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: December 26, 2005 at 11:17 PM / IP Logged  

posted_image

I think this is the hook up I was looking for... to use the ignition wire from the starter ouput(86) to trigger the relay, (85) (30) to a ground and having (87) become ground while running

Taking It 1 Wire @ A Time...
ripley01 
Member - Posts: 33
Member
Joined: November 27, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: December 27, 2005 at 7:43 AM / IP Logged  
Not sure what you're trying to accomplish, but spotted a possible flaw in your solution. The trigger input to your relay is not only connected to the remote starter, but also to the ignition key. So the relay will also engage when you run the car manually. Normally, you can separate two signals like these by using a diode, but as the currents of the ignition leads are huge, that is not practical in this case.
dualsport 
Silver - Posts: 985
Silver
Joined: September 27, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: December 27, 2005 at 9:26 AM / IP Logged  
Could try this-
posted_image
You just have to make sure the ignition power comes up before the momentary pulse is issued, otherwise it won't work. You could substitute a transistor for the first relay, but this would do
jayyzr 
Copper - Posts: 116
Copper This member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.
Joined: May 14, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: December 27, 2005 at 2:11 PM / IP Logged  
Thankyou for all the input on my question, I did have a extra 3rd ignition/2nd acc wire that I used to wire the relay up for the ground while running and it worked perfectposted_image Thanks alot
Taking It 1 Wire @ A Time...

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Post ReplyPost New Topic Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
  •  
Search the12volt.com
Custom Search
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, January 18, 2017 • Copyright © 1999-2017 the12volt.com Donate to the12volt.com Advertising Top of Page
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com - Free Installation Information for Mobile Electronics Installers, Enthusiasts, and Do-It-Yourselfers since 1999
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer