icon

Troubleshooting UltraStart 1250

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tbird2340 
Copper - Posts: 363
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 09, 2006 at 8:46 AM / IP Logged  
I am trying to troubleshoot a remote starter (Ultra Start TL1250) in a 2001 Silverado. I have never used Ultra Start before (Crimestopper guy).. The locks work fine but when he attempts a remote start the parking lights flash 5 times and then nothing...
The manual states that 5 flashes is "hood open". Well they didn't even hook up the hood pin, it's just cut and not hooked to anything. I did test it just to see if it was sitting at ground but nothing..
Anyone else have any ideas on what to check?
Thanks much!
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,056
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: December 09, 2006 at 9:06 AM / IP Logged  
Why don't you install a hood pin?
tbird2340 
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 09, 2006 at 9:20 AM / IP Logged  
It's not my install. I'm just trying to fix it.
However, I don't install the hood pins either. What I do is add a female wire connector to my ground wire and then a male connector (can't think of what they are called) to the hoodpin wire so if it ever needed to be put in service mode it's simple.
Any ideas on my problem?
Thanks!
xtremej 
Gold - Posts: 1,440
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: December 09, 2006 at 9:23 AM / IP Logged  

Do the leds flash 5 times? If so its a brake shut down, meter brake wire (pink) to see if its getting voltage at the brain. Try also reseting the brain and re-learn tach.

xtremej 
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: December 09, 2006 at 9:24 AM / IP Logged