icon

remove or fix, aps785

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
perhaps0369 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: May 06, 2009 at 12:16 PM / IP Logged  
i have a audiovox aps785 installed in a 1990 ford f250. i bought the truck with the alarm installed. it worked fine until 2 days ago and it won't allow the truck to start. there was a click and then nothing. nothing electrical works key on or off. i pulled the neg bat cable. this worked once. now it will just lock up when i do this and then turn the key. the alarm will still activate with the remote, and deactivate. but when i do deactivate there is alot of clicking, at the door locks and at the , i believe , relays. the valet switch will not seem to work as per the instructions i got off line. i would be just fine in disabling the system, but have not been able to find any info on that. diagnosis is an option but i have limited knowledge and can't seem to find any shops that will work on it. any input would be graetly appreciated.
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: May 06, 2009 at 5:21 PM / IP Logged  
Are the ignition lights coming on? If not it isn't the alarm. Check ALL the fuses.
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,666
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: May 06, 2009 at 5:34 PM / IP Logged  

Unless the starter kill relay was installed on the Ignition Switch input wire.  Then a failed connection would have the symptoms you are having.   Highly unlikely, but we do not know who installed your alarm.  Under the dash there should be a relay connected to the orange wire of the alarm.  On that relay there should be 2 large wires, follow them and they should both be connected to the same color wire.  Simply connect those same color wires together.  This will essentially remove the starter kill of the alarm.  That is the only thing that could affect the car and make it do what you are describing.