icon

am i crazy or is does this make sense?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
aggresivedriver 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Posted: November 12, 2009 at 12:23 AM / IP Logged  
So tell me if this is me just being crazy or if I actually have a legit problem I gotta take care of. I'm an installer so no opinions/advice will confuse me.
So I just installed everything in my car... Here's my setup
Rockford P1000-1BD Mono sub amp (1000w RMS at 1ohm) going to two 12" alpine Type-R subs (obviously running at 1ohm for the amp) in a sealed box. I have two sets of Infinity Kappa Perfect 6.5" (their a component set), both being powered by an Alpine MRP-F300 (which does 50w RMS by 4). The sub-amp is powered by 4gauge wire, and the 4-channel amp is powered by 8gauge. The radio is an alpine CDA-9886 with the Imprint Processor box hooked up to it as well.
SO... here's where I'm confused if I'm going crazy or if this is something that actually makes sense. Assuming I have my gain on my sub amp at about 8 1/2 out of 11, and my 4channel at about 7 out of 11, and my subs turned up to 15 out of 15 for the gain on the radio, here's what happens.
It seems to be that when I have my radio at lower volume (setup with the gains I listed above) I get a ton of bass from my subs, pretty much overpowering the music from the speakers. Which makes sense because of how I have the gains setup. However, I turn the volume up, and my music gets louder from my speakers, it seems almost as if the bass from my subs is going down. Its definitely more noticeable if your doing it the opposite way, going from a high volume to a lower volume. Is this possible or am I just crazy?
It seems to me that it could either be a couple of things...
1. My ears are just hearing more all around sound at high volume and when its turned down my ears can pick up more of the bass (this seems unlikely because its kinda a pretty noticeable difference)