icon

sealing fiberglass enclosure

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bullyx2 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: March 04, 2010 at 5:37 PM / IP Logged  

Hi. This is probably a really dumb question but I have never used fiberglass before. I have been wanting to learn and I think this tiny project I have is a simple first step to get familiar with mixing resin. I have a custom fiberglass enclosure that I had built for the corner of my trunk. The car was recently in an accident so I pulled the enclosure while the car is being repaired, I am replacing the sub in it and think I'd like to make sure that it is properly sealed while it's out of the car and not in use. I am almost positive it is, but I am guessing this cant hurt. The front, top, and bottom of the enclosure is MDF, while the rear is fiberglass. What I am reading is that I should be able to mix up a small batch of resin, pour some into the corners/seams of the enclosure, and move the box around so it pools up in there until drying. I should be able to do this again for each seam. Is that all correct? I plan to test this in an old MDF enclosure first before trying it on my fiberglass one.

Also, I probably do not need much for this. Do most local stores sell the resin in smaller amounts or is a gallon the smallest size usually available?

Thanks in advance.

sealing fiberglass enclosure - Last Post -- posted image.

dman007 
Copper - Posts: 106
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 05, 2010 at 9:19 AM / IP Logged  

To test how good the seal is, when the woofer is installed.  Depress the cone carefully, after pushing it in, it should slowly spring back.  If it springs back as soon as you release it, then its not sealed correctly.

As far as sealing procedure, you can do it that way.  But you cannot just use resin alone, you need some fiberglass mat to hold the resin in place.

Home depots here in NY sell resins in 2 sizes the gallon and one smaller, not sure exactly size maybe a quart....