the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

viper 5901 remote start shuts off at idle


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
rbyers8252 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: May 15, 2010
Location: Indiana, United States
Posted: May 15, 2010 at 11:41 PM / IP Logged  
Car: 2005 Ford Taurus
Alarm: Viper 5901
Bypass: DEI XK04
Sensors: DEI 520T Backup Battery
I am having a HUGE problem with my Viper 5901 remote start. Everything works perfect on the alarm and I've programmed and programmed everything. The remote start starts the car but once the engine RPM gets to idle the remote start shuts off. No error messages, just shuts off and the remote says remote start off. No led flashes or parking light flashes. I have been through all of the settings for the remote start and tried them all but nothing changes this. Reset it to learn the Tach and RPM over and over but nothing. Starts and runs but as soon as the engine gets to idle around 500-600RPMs it just stops. Anyone who as any clues or ideas please throw them my way.
Thanks!
-Robert
Mark Mizenko 
Copper - Posts: 452
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 13, 2004
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: May 15, 2010 at 11:52 PM / IP Logged  
Your'e using the tach setting on the module?  The tach programmed ok?  What tach/injector wire color are you using on the vehicle?
rbyers8252 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: May 15, 2010
Location: Indiana, United States
Posted: May 16, 2010 at 12:37 AM / IP Logged  
I ran a wire to the ignition coil. The ignition coil had 4 wires. One is solid red. The others are mixed. I was told any if those would work. I've used two of them now. I've tried using the virtual tach feature which over cranks too bad and I don't have a bit writer. The wire to the ignition coil and set as tach starts fine but again, doesn't stay running. I need to try it with no voltage or tach safety and see if it will stay running that way but even if it does it will overcrank so that's not a permanent solution. I just don't get why it won't stay running. Obviously my PATs is ok since it does start just fine and runs for a moment. I tried it one more time tonight after it sat for a while and it ran for over a minute but as soon as it got to idle it shut off. I restarted it and within 20 seconds when idle was reached it shutoff.
rbyers8252 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: May 15, 2010
Location: Indiana, United States
Posted: May 16, 2010 at 9:28 AM / IP Logged  
So update. By turning off any engine checking modes it works great right now. No over crank and stays running. Is this safe to run it without a type of engine checking?
Mark Mizenko 
Copper - Posts: 452
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 13, 2004
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: May 16, 2010 at 1:23 PM / IP Logged  

You can try a NOT RED wire at a fuel injector.  That'll probably work better for you.

With engine checking off, the system wont check for voltage after starting the vehicle.  It's ok to use, but I would still try an injector first!

rbyers8252 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: May 15, 2010
Location: Indiana, United States
Posted: May 16, 2010 at 11:11 PM / IP Logged  
So kind of a update but more problems. Got every thing working with the remote start. Just using no engine monitoring right now since it is working perfect. But the new problem.
I also installed the DEI backup battery, Dual zone motion sensor, and glass break sensor. The motion sensor sets off the warn away chirp for the alarm but none of the three sensors set off the actual alarm regularly. Hit and miss basically with the proximity sensor, even if its sensitivity is turned up all the way you have to basically be touching the module. Glass break sensor doesn't set it off. And the backup battery worked the last I tested it. On the glass sensor and motion sensor I can get both to light up their LED stating that they were triggered but neither sets the alarm off. I am getting the pulse of power through the wire (blue I think) all the way up into the brain but it isn't setting it off. Any ideas here? I've read and tried almost all of the programming features but nothing has made a difference. My door triggers, hood trigger, trunk trigger, and vibration sensor, all work fine and set it off.
rbyers8252 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: May 15, 2010
Location: Indiana, United States
Posted: May 16, 2010 at 11:13 PM / IP Logged  
And for the tach I was using the 3 mixed colored wires, not the solid red one, but I'm not too worried about it as of right now unless it causes future problems.

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, September 22, 2017 • Copyright © 1999-2017 the12volt.com Donate to the12volt.com Advertising Top of Page
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Donate to the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer