icon

sound deadening

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
spmpdr 
Copper - Posts: 456
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 20, 2010 at 4:38 PM / IP Logged  
Im thinking about deadening the floor and firewall of my 2003 ram reg cab truck.The engine and road noise from under the truck is pretty loud inside the cab.I was wondering if i could use some sound board like the type you would use in a home.It is 1/2" thick.My plan would be to cover the floor and fire wall in sound board then cover that with some MLV (mass loaded vinyl).If that wont work could someone recommend a good closed cell foam that is affordable?Should I also deaden the underside of my truck where my exhuast routes with some MLV or something?
-A vision without a plan is just a hallucination-
icearrow6 
Copper - Posts: 497
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 21, 2010 at 3:15 PM / IP Logged  
i have never used the MLV material before so i'm not sure how well they work, sorry.
are these cheaper than Dynamat?
I've used Dynamat on the firewall with great success to quiet those noisy diesels.
ianarian 
Copper - Posts: 516
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 22, 2010 at 10:11 AM / IP Logged  
I've tried some of that thicker matting before and was not satisfied with the results. Dynamat Extreme is expensive, but it is a superior product. The adhesion to the surface is part of the magic. It should be heated with a hair dryer and spread thoroughly to a clean surface...you have to gut the entire interior for best results... applied correctly it responds to sound and vibration... well worth the money and effort... I used 5 18"x36" sheets Dyn Ext and 8 cans of undercoat on interior body... each interior door panel is sprayed with a can of undercoat and each door got 1 sheet 18x36 DE. I have no rattle and barely any vibration. Like a limo..
This is what I do for FUN!
spmpdr 
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 22, 2010 at 1:36 PM / IP Logged