icon

pci bus system in my 01 jeep possible?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
lwmajeed 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: January 07, 2011 at 12:05 AM / IP Logged  
Hey all, I'm kind of new to this and looking for advice and instruction. I'm tired of the look of my stock 01 radio in my jeep grand cherokee and found an 05 cherokee radio that I like a lot better! I was wondering if its even possible to use this in my 01 and if so how can i do it? I know the 05 is PCI bus, but i've been told its possible? Thanks in advance!
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,666
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: January 07, 2011 at 12:51 AM / IP Logged  
I do not know anything about a PCI bus, but you should be able to carry both radios into a stereo shop and purchase the 2 harnesses required to pull this off. You will need a Metra 70-1817 to plug into the factory wiring of your 01 vehicle. You will need a Metra 71-6502 that will plug into the 05 radio. Notice that the 6502 has a 71 and not a 70 as a prefix.
Once you get both of these, simply connect them together wire color to wire color. Insulate any left over wires on each plug. Connect the blue wires even if your vehicle does not have an electric antenna.
You may have to get somebody to order the 71 harness. Not a real big demand for those.
lwmajeed 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: January 07, 2011 at 1:10 AM / IP Logged  
Ok sounds easy enough. Also I'm using the stock Infinity system with the infinity amp in my 01 Jeep grand cherokee. Everything mostly stock, is there anything I should worry about as far as the sound system working with this new 05 radio unit?
dasbogie 
Silver - Posts: 514
Silver spacespace
Posted: January 09, 2011 at 7:58 AM / IP Logged  
Fairly certain the 05 grand cherokee radio is can-bus turn on
Advanced
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,666
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace