weird remote start issue with 5902

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
steeda911 
Member - Posts: 22
Member spacespace
Posted: February 02, 2011 at 6:25 PM / IP Logged  

Hello all,

I just thought I would bounce this off of you guys and see if you have any hints or ideas you could send my way.   I am a previous installer (about 9 yrs experience).  Anyway I installed my 5902 in my 04 ford lightning.  Everything appears to be operating as it should except for one thing.  When I remote start the truck with "virtual tach" the truck starts as it should and never have any issues.  When I try to remote start the truck using the tach signal it will not start.  Well let me explain, the truck will start with the tach if the truck has already been started for the day but if the truck has sat overnight then it will not start with the tach signal.  When the truck as sat over night and I remote start it (when using the tach signal) it will not start on the first try but it will on the second try.  It is my understanding that when using the tach signal the truck will crank until it senses the truck running and then disengages the starter and does not crank for a lotted amount of time, like .6 seconds or so on.  Just so you know the 5902 does learn the tach signal and I am getting it at a injector. I have even tried a second injector just for doodies and jiggles.  I have also even tried starting the truck first thing in the morning with the key and reving up the rpm's a little and relearning the tach.  The alarm will always learn the tach.  Well if you guys have any ideas throw them my way.  I am sure I forgot something in my explanation so if you have any questions let me know.

Thanks in advance.