icon

astro vs viper

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
kgerry 
Platinum - Posts: 3,455
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: June 02, 2011 at 9:35 AM / IP Logged  

i am hoping some Astro guys can chirp up here.... i just brought Astro in as a second R/S line and i find the install guides very confusing (over-complicated)... i have been doing Viper and Clifford for 15+ years and are very familiar with how they do things... i was hoping that Astro being in the same family would be very similar but it doesn't seem to be....

the first few things i notice (besides the overly-complicated install/programming guide and a unit brain the size of a fax machine)

how do i program or select between Tach, voltage and Virtual tach modes?    i didn't see a setting for that with the Multitest tool... there are many times i don't use tach in an install....i don't even see a voltage sense or V-tach setting.....

if i do use tach, how does it program... i do see a setting for "automatic tach learning"... does it automatically learn and store this value once the vehicle is started? (with the Viper units i press and hold the valet switch in the ant until the LED comes on... so i know it took)

is the run time not programmable? with the Viper units using the Bitwriter it is programmable from 1-90 minutes-whatever the customer wants...can i only choose between 4, 8, 18 minutes?

it seems the 2nd ACC, 2nd Ign output (P5) is not part of the main harness but a separate bank that you have to manually connect wires to? (seems like a lot of extra wiring)

the doorlock harness has 6 wires (built in 451M)... i am used to the Vipers small 2 wires harness (lock & unlock... so simple)  do i really need to connect multiple wires for a simple negative locks or still just the 2 wires?  (seems like a lot of extra wiring)