icon

subwoofer not working in cold weather

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
neil001 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Posted: November 21, 2012 at 6:01 PM / IP Logged  
I've had a 2012 Sonata 2.0T Limited since April of this year, the cold weather is coming in nowadays (I live in Ottawa, Ontario) and I've noticed in the morning (6:30am -- averaging -6 celsius) on my way to work there is absolutely zero bass in my car. My commute to work is only 10 minutes and I'm not back in the car again until 4pm when the temperature is back up to around 6-10 celsius and the sound is fine. Now, I'm by no means an expert in the audio field, but this doesn't make sense to me. I've never had this problem in any other car before. Can someone explain to me what's going on? I'd like to know because in Ottawa our winters can get down to -35c and stay there for days on end, and I'd like my sound back please.
lspker 
Silver - Posts: 503
Silver spacespace
Posted: November 21, 2012 at 9:47 PM / IP Logged  
I have noticed that some of the "newer" style subs freeze up in the cold, the surrounds are no longer soft enough to alow much movement, once they warm up they work again. Other possablility is you are exeriencing the ture meaning of cold solder joint keeping signal from commingout
soundnsecurity 
Gold - Posts: 2,711
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 22, 2012 at 8:32 PM / IP Logged