icon

amplifier will not turn on

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
thedudeabides80 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: May 13, 2014 at 10:35 PM / IP Logged  
Hello all, I've ran into a bit of a problem with an install. I installed a pioneer head unit,2 rear 6x9 speakers and an amplifier in a 1994 oldsmobile cutlass supreme.
However the amplifier will not turn on and I have tried everything I know how. Ive been installing for about 12 years and have not ran into this situation before.
The amplifier is a Rockford Fosgate Punch 400 four channel. I ran new 8 guage power wire with a 60 amp inline fuse. 8 gauge ground wire and the rca cables had the remote wire built in and its connected of coarse to the blue and white wire from the head unit.
I have tested the remote wire and am getting power from it. Same as with the amp power wire. I slso used the remote wire since I knew it was getting power and used my multimeter and touched the ground I'm using for the amp and I got a positive reading so Im sure the ground is ok as well.
I do have the power antennae for the car and the amp remote wire ran off of the remote lead on the head unit, never have really dealt with a power antennae before so hopefully thats not an idiot move.
Anyone have any clue as to why this wouldnt turn on?
Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!
powerslave 
Copper - Posts: 126
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 13, 2014 at 10:54 PM / IP Logged  
It's defective? Try another AMP...
sparkie 
Platinum - Posts: 2,061
Platinum spacespace
Posted: May 14, 2014 at 9:25 PM / IP Logged