the12volt.com spacer
icon

Viper 5706V remote start

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
alpine0000 
Copper - Posts: 160
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 13, 2015 at 6:32 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote alpine0000
Hey all,
I used to be an installer. I've installed many alarms and remote starts back in the day (1996-2002) but have been out of the game for a while. Back in my day, we never needed bypass modules. Haha.
I just bought a 2015 4runner TRD Pro and got a Viper 5706V alarm with remote start, as well as the DBALL2 bypass module and XKLOADER2. I installed the alarm and everything on the alarm portion works great. I'm using D2D (not W2W). I flashed the DBALL2 via the XKLOADER2 with the proper firmware for my vehicle that has a G Key (402.TL7 1.32). The Viper will arm and disarm with the factory key buttons and the Viper remote itself.
The only problem is that when I go to remote start it, the parking lights turn on, the dash lights/radio/AC turn on, and there is 12 volts on the purple starter wire of the Viper, but the car does not crank at all. I'm thinking this is a problem with the bypass module and it not telling the car that the key is in the ignition maybe? I hooked up the Key Sense wire of the car to the Dark Blue wire on the Viper (-200ma Status Output), so I'd think that isn't the issue.
One other thing I'm thinking it could be is that I didn't hook anything up to the Starter 2 wire of my car -- Should I have hooked up Starter 2? I only have the thick Starter 1 wire hooked up. If the Starter 2 is the problem, which wire on the Viper should I hook it up to? I see the RED / white wire can be programmed to be Starter 2, but this is currently hooked up to my Ignition 2.
Or maybe the problem is something else? Not sure. All the basic alarm wires are hooked up correctly and everything works.