the12volt.com spacer
icon

projector puddle lights

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
subprime 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Posted: June 27, 2016 at 9:12 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote subprime
Hello,
I need help resolving an issue I am having with projector puddle lights this at I am trying to install. I apologize if this a lengthy post but I'd like to be thorough describing eggs at I have done. I am a novice with these things but pick up quickly.
My vehicle is a 2011 F150 that has stick puddle lights under the mirror. I installed the additions all puddle lights by tapping into the existing stock puddle lights and ground them to the door. Everything worked fine.
I then decided to install running board and bed lights. They were attached to the same circuit which controls the puddle, dome and cargo light. They worked fine for a few days but then the puddle and cargo lights stopped working.
I removed all the additional lights to try and trace the issue. I now have the running board and bed lights installed and everything is working. I tried reinstalling the projector puddles. Works fine when I install the first one, but when I install the second, the puddle and cargo lights go back out. I found that the bcm is giving a short to ground with the puddle lights but I cannot find the short.
I disconnected the battery and checked the puddle light wiring with a continuity tester attached to ground and it lights up. I did not trace the whole wire but checked any area that I was near to make sure power wasn't touching a ground. I can't find anything. Without the projector lights the stock puddles work fine and the bcm shows no errors. The continuity tester still lights up when attached to ground so it seems like there is still a short.