the12volt.com spacer
icon

Correct use of Pin 87a

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
shwa 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: January 01, 2018 at 1:21 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote shwa
Hi all.
Great forum, really helpful for someone like me (complete novice!)
So I had a question about wiring a light bar up with a trigger wire and a switch. I found my answer here: https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/forum_posts.asp?tid=143717#727647
Which has raised a new question for me. I thought I might have been able to wire the switch through Pin 87a. From the above post, that's not the way to go about it. So could someone please help me understand how Pin 87a should be correctly utilised?
Cheers
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,668
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: January 01, 2018 at 4:11 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote geepherder
https://www.the12volt.com/relays/relays.asp
87a would not be used in your case. 87a and 30 are connected when the coil is not energized. When the coil is energized, 87 and 30 are connected.
87a would be used if you needed to open a connection.
My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
shwa 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 01, 2018 at 6:01 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote shwa
Still not sure I'm on this. As you stated, 87a and 30 are connected when there is no charge going through the coil. As such, my thinking was that if I could run a switch between 37a and the + of the light bar, I would be sorted. I realise this isn't the way to go now, but I just don't quite get the reasoning.
geepherder 
Posted: January 01, 2018 at 6:42 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote geepherder
So wait- you're not using the switch to simply trigger the relay?