the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Putting Different VDC Amp Turn On and Power Safe?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
vitasoy 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: June 03, 2018 at 9:07 PM / IP Logged  
Hi I just signed up here and this is my first time posting a question on car audio fourms period but I have before on car racing and performance fourms.
I have searched on Google and I can't seem to find the info I need or maybe I'm not searching on the right places.
I long time ago for a different project I built my own powerful step up DC DC converter that handles 2500 watts from 12 volts. And I have 2 of them that I can put in parrelel.
My problem is I have recently spent alot of money on car audio and my setup is an Orion hcca 12 black coil version with 8x 8 inch Orion hcca 8nhps for my midrange with tweets. My setup is pulling a good 3000 watts or 250 amps with nothing else on like ac defoggers etc. For electric I have a rebuilt alternator 200 amps for my 1997 BMW 328i with 0000 gauge wiring a also have a cheap Rockville 50 farad cap which yes I know it's crap but will change it for sure...
With 3000 watts of load my voltage is still dropping below 11. My plans is a the big 4 which I have not done yet but the important part is I never seen or researched people putting a step up converter for car audio.
To the question is it safe to inline a step up boost converter from the battery to amp. Like I think it's completely fine since cars these days are full of regulators to begins with.
Second question is how will the amps remote turn on work. For example should I setup a seperate switch or keep the remote as 12 volts?
I will be using the 2 parrallal boost converters with resisters to maintain a stable voltage set to exactly 14.4 or even 14.6 or something but does the remote turn on have to be the same voltage.
The last thing I want is a short to my cars electrical system