the12volt.com spacer
icon

04 Chevrolet Silverado 1500, Alarm/Remote Start Beginner

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
scate636 
Member - Posts: 1
Member spacespace
Posted: December 15, 2018 at 12:00 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote scate636
Again Im very new to this stuff so please be patient. Ive been doing a tons of research but Im finding some of my answers arent easy to find.
To start I have an 04 Chevy Silverado 1500 that I would like to install a security/remote start system in.
Initially, I was looking at the Avital 5303L and DB3 bypass for about $150. It had all the features I was after, until I found out I couldnt flash the unit.
I really dont like the idea of limiting my self by buying a unit that I cant change options in at a later date.
This kind of leads me to several questions.
Ive noticed that there is sellers out there flashing the DB3 prior to shipping to the customer.
-Is this a good option or will I be kicking my self later on being locked out of the Bypass?
Reading the 5303L manual I noticed that there is some "Bitwriter" options
-Do I also need to flash the 5303L or are most of the option configurable via the remote?
-Is it a good idea to stay clear of DEI stuff completely or is it more of an issue with the bypass?
-Can I simply get a idatalink bypass and still use the 5303L?
-If not what system is recommended in that $150 range?
Sorry for all the question and appreciate all the advice.
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,668
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: December 16, 2018 at 5:32 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote geepherder
Hopefully someone else will correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe you can use a bypass from another company (idatalink, fortin, omegalink). You will just have to go W2W rather than D2D.