the12volt.com spacer
icon

Low Voltage Remote Start Trigger, 2000 Ford Ranger

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jwtservicesllc 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: September 14, 2021 at 10:03 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote jwtservicesllc
I saw an old post about this but the thread has been closed so I can’t reply to it. I am a mobile auto mechanic and I have an on-board air compressor with an 8-gallon tank along with 2 11-gallon auxiliary tanks giving me a total of 30 gallons of 150psi air. It is powered using an inverter that is hooked to a stand-alone deep cycle battery with a battery isolator and I have upgraded to a 220A Alternator in my 2000 Ranger. Now, instead of manually starting the truck every 30 minutes or so to recharge my inverter’s battery, I would like to install a remote start system and have it triggered by a low-voltage alarm on my auxiliary battery so I can just turn on the inverter and forget it because the truck will automatically cycle itself. Remote start systems can be programmed for how long they run after start without the key being turned to the on position. I would set mine for 20 minutes to allow ample time for the alternator to recharge my auxiliary battery. I don’t want to just leave the truck running because that will cost me a fortune in gasoline plus the elevated wear on my engine for excessive idling. A generator really isn’t an option either because I don’t want to purchase a generator with 4 times the power I need just to get the electric start option because everything is mounted at the front of the bed and I have a camper shell on the truck to help secure my tools. Also, all of my tools are at the back of the bed and I have a toolbox that is on slide rails to sit directly above the axle while I’m driving and then it slides back to the rear when I’m working. My jack, jack stands, and other bulky tools are in a rack under the toolbox slides so it’s REALLY not convenient to have to climb ove