icon

Educate Me about alarms

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
extremeavenger 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: February 10, 2004 at 10:41 PM / IP Logged  
Hey guys I am totally new to trying to install car alarms and sh*t to the point to where i dont even know where to hide the box and sh*t. It all hooks up underneath my dash but where to I hide the sensor thing? I know i sound fu**ing retarded right now but once i learn the basics ill be fine i just have never done it before.....gimmie a hand?
mobiletoys2002 
Gold - Posts: 1,050
Gold spacespace
Posted: February 10, 2004 at 10:50 PM / IP Logged  
Well the main unit(brain) should be fairly hidden for high security install or at least make it hard to get at because once found "alarm is useless!!!"
You usually want it high on the drivers side dash or behind radio above glove box,etc!
The shock sensor can be mount toward the center of the vehicle zip tied to a wire harness or screwd to the panel somewher(depending on unit being installed>
keep your valet switch well hidden if you can inside glove box is always great,in a fuse panel cover etc..
What kind of car do you want to install in an what kind of unit will you be installing???
extremeavenger 
Member spacespace
Posted: February 11, 2004 at 12:08 AM / IP Logged  
Hey man thanx for the reply. I dot have the exzact model number handy but it is a Commando alarm with remote start and I want to put it in my 1999 Dodge Avenger. I cant find any stores to put it in for me cause i didnt buy it from them so im kinda stuck with an alarm and remote start but i cant use it cause im not sure on how to put it in. I knew this was going to be hard as f**k once i started reading about all this tuff or does it sound alot harder than it really is. will I be able to get in there and tuck this there and splice and hook that up here? I mean im sure it's not as easy as a car stereo but if im car stereo minded should i have a problem catching on?