icon

Digital multimeter question

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Herald 
Member - Posts: 46
Member spacespace
Posted: June 22, 2004 at 1:31 AM / IP Logged  

On my car i have a plug which melted now my car wont  turn on.  i jumped the plug and now it turns on.  My question is how do i use the dmm to accurately determine a proper fuse value for this wire (I believe that plug served its purpose in melting like a fuse would) the wire has no fuse. dmm is a ET955 madde by mac tools. im new to this please help

A person who carries or proclaims important news; a messenger.
raydawg357 
Silver - Posts: 769
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 22, 2004 at 8:17 AM / IP Logged  
You don't really need a DMM.  The fuse will protect the wire itself.  A 10 or 15 amp will do fine.  The larger the fuse, the more tolerate it will be.  You don't want something so big that it will allow a power surge that will fry the end item.
Do it right the first time
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 22, 2004 at 8:40 AM / IP Logged  
If you melted a connector you have a problem.  Connectors are NOT designed to "melt like a fuse would."  A fuse is designed to blow to protect the wiring and connectors.  You have a fire waiting to happen.  How much load is running on the wiring that goes through this connector, and how large are the wires going through the connector?
Support the12volt.com
meh66 
Copper - Posts: 266
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 22, 2004 at 8:49 AM / IP Logged  

Hi Herald,