icon

wiring dos and donts

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
nickch 
Copper - Posts: 50
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 29, 2004 at 1:53 AM / IP Logged  

i'm doing my first install on friday and i jsut need to clear up on somethings that might be obvious but hey.. its my first time and i dont wanna screw it up. i read that you must not run power and rca wires together but was wondering about the other wires. Can I run:

1) RCA with speaker wires

2) remote wire with power wire (i guess this should be no problem)

3) Speaker wires with power cable.

m2k_us 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: June 29, 2004 at 2:26 AM / IP Logged  

hi,

Yes, you are right. don't ever run high powered circuits (amps) next to or in the same cable set as rca cables. The electric field will distort your sound quality. You can run rca and speaker cable together becacuse the rca cable is shielded and wont effect the sound quality. Remote wires and power wires can be run together. for best results use shielded cables for your run.

chasesaccessori 
Copper - Posts: 198
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 29, 2004 at 9:18 AM / IP Logged  
I always tell my installers to treat the RCA's like they have some sort of STD. Never run anything with them, even speaker wires.
Just my 2˘
(owner/installer)
Chase's Accessories
Ridgecrest, CA
in business since 92
djMINIoompa 
Copper - Posts: 125
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 29, 2004 at 10:46 AM / IP Logged  

chasesaccessori wrote:
I always tell my installers to treat the RCA's like they have some sort of STD. Never run anything with them, even speaker wires.
Just my 2˘

Thats how i feel. never put it in that type of analogy, but that works, and it gives it nice meaning. Good job haha.

DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741