icon

total newb at fiberglassing

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
hightek 
Copper - Posts: 223
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 13, 2004 at 12:49 PM / IP Logged  

i really want to try and take on the task of making a custom fiberglass enclosure for my woofers but have a gazillion questions about it, luckily i won't ask them all right now.

first, how hard is it to actually get something decent looking with fiberglass for a first time person like me? how do i get started, should i just try and make a little box or something first?

what's this stuff about fleece i keep on hearing? can anyone give me step by step instructions on how to do it? i know you get the basic mold (i guess) then you stretch fabric over it (is that the fleece, if so what does it do?) then you go on and resin or something like that? is this anywhere near being close?

another question is, if i made the enclosure do you just make one that is portable, so you can take it out of your trunk, or do you build it so it is stuck the sidewalls of the trunk? if any one has any pics could you either post them or send them to me, hightek1320@yahoo.com

i'm just trying to get a scope on the project before i go out and buy the stuff and totally mess something up

r0yal 
Copper - Posts: 72
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 13, 2004 at 12:58 PM / IP Logged