icon

Stereo installation in a Sunfire

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
ryan0204 
Member - Posts: 22
Member spacespace
Posted: December 26, 2004 at 10:08 PM / IP Logged  
I was reading through some of the topics on here about stereo installation on 2000 & newer sunfire's and I'm a little confused about the wiring. I'm pretty new to all of this and was wondering if someone could explain why you need to get a +12V switched wire source from the ignition harness or wiper fuse and why you can't just use what was powering the original factory stereo?
sparkie 
Platinum - Posts: 2,061
Platinum spacespace
Posted: December 27, 2004 at 11:21 AM / IP Logged  
Most newer GM vehicles use a radio that only works off the vehicle's data bus. It isn't like a conventional radio anymore. The best thing to do is buy a module that replaces the original radio and retains the integrity of the data bus and chimes in the car. There are many different ones available and make the install very easy.
sparky
ryan0204 
Member spacespace
Posted: December 27, 2004 at 12:36 PM / IP Logged  
Is this the kind of module you're talking about? http://www.logjamelectronics.com/soungmchime.html
For $90, I'd rather just try what the other posts were talking about with finding a +12V switched source and using that.
sparkie 
Platinum spacespace
Posted: December 27, 2004 at 3:41 PM / IP Logged