icon

The best Cheap amp

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
boricuaso 
Copper - Posts: 50
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 13, 2005 at 12:08 AM / IP Logged  
my first amp was a BOSS 800w pushing 2 15" hifonics or something hercules, lol, it was cheap and loud. for a first system build is ok, if your new to car audio and or dont have lots of money the generic stuff can still rock.
iairj84 
Copper - Posts: 83
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 13, 2005 at 2:08 AM / IP Logged  
Well i wouldnt say im new to car audio, I've built systems in 7 or 8 cars/trucks now, anything from the cheapest all the way up to the 2000 watt alpines (I say 2000 loosely I dont remember exactly how much it was.) I'm going to be purchasing an explorer used and Will definatley take advatage of the added cargo area... Plans are definately at least 2 12's or maybe if im lucky a couple 15's.... Well anyway I definately agree that a cheap amp can work well, you just cant expect a ton from it. In my small experience I would say that if the amp is being used for woofers you have a little bit more play with the quality.
customsuburb 
Gold - Posts: 1,813
Gold spacespace
Posted: March 13, 2005 at 1:46 PM / IP Logged  
audiobass10 wrote:
audiobass10 wrote:

kgerry wrote:
any cheap amp will work as long as you dont expect it to hit anywhere near it's rated output and as long as you are willing to live with a certain amount of engine noise......

Hit it's rated power? huh? Also, engine noise wouldnt be caused by a certain amplifier alone.

Nevermind. Misread your post at first. The part about engine noise is still incorrect however.

Umm...no its true. Some of those amps are so cheap that if you have the gain very high at all (sometimes any position actually) you are going to hear engine noise. It probobly wouldn't be too much of a deal for subs, but It'd be annoying as hell if you're using it with some coaxials or component speakers.

audiobass10 
Silver - Posts: 328
Silver spacespace